Easy Lemon Scones Check out our Microgreens at True Leaf Market
top of page

Easy Lemon Scones

Updated: May 9, 2023




Usually when I think of scones, I think of extremely dry, almost stale pastries. If you feel the same way, and you have never had a fresh baked scone, it is no wonder. Homemade scones are so different than what you will find in a chain coffee shop. While I have tried my hand at many different types of baked goods, I had never made scones until a few years ago. It's probably because for some reason scones just sound difficult. This recipe is anything but difficult. I promise.



Ingredients:

Scones

-2.5 cups all purpose flour

-1/2 cup granulated sugar

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-1 Tablespoon baking powder

-zest of one lemon

-6 Tablespoons cold unsalted butter, diced

-1 egg and 1 egg yolk

-1 cup heavy cream


Lemon glaze

-1 cup powdered sugar

-juice of one lemon


In the bowl of a food processor, add flour, sugar, salt and baking powder. Pulse to combine.

In a separate large bowl whisk the egg, egg yolk and heavy cream. Dice up the cold butter and add to the flour mixture in the food processor and pulse till the butter is pea size.


Add the flour mixture from the food processor to the bowl with the egg and cream. Stir to combine with a fork until all the flour is incorporated.


Next, simply use the fork to place dollops of the dough onto a silpat (I consider a silpat a must have for baking cookies. If you don't own one put it on your Holiday list!) or parchment lined baking sheet. I like the texture of the scones when left all ragged like this instead of rolling them out and shaping them. There are more nooks and crannies to get nice and crisp while the inside stays soft.


Bake the scones in a 400 degree oven for 13-18 minutes. The scones should be starting to brown on the edges and the tops just a bit when they are ready. I usually need to rotate mine halfway through cooking as my oven heats unevenly.



My kids love topping them with a lemon glaze, but they are also good plain. The glaze is the juice of one lemon mixed with enough powdered sugar to achieve a drizzle-ability.


That's it! I am able to whip these up on school mornings no problem. Start to finish it takes me 15 minutes or less to get them in the oven, and I make the glaze while they are baking.


I hope your family enjoys these as much as mine does.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page